//
you're reading...
Game/Industry News, Opinions

Diablo 3 Launch Failure

So I, like many… and by many I mean pretty much everyone besides a few thousand or so people, have been heartbroken by the “Error 37” code given when attempting to log into the Diablo 3 servers. Now personally I don’t even care about the online features (not to mention they don’t even have PvP ready at launch…) and I just to create a character, add my friends, and maybe gain a few levels… However after waiting since midnight after receiving my Collector’s Edition from my local GameStop I expected to go home and play.

My first surprise is that the servers go up 12:01am PDT which me being in CDT means I had to wait 2 hours after getting my game to play and I feel bad for the east coast where they had to wait a whole 3 hours… Also because they made a universal launch and not staggered, it caused massive amounts of traffic which apparently Blizzard did not see coming. This ultimately led to the now infamous (and more than likely the talk of the internet and new face of memes for the next few months) “Error 37” message that pops up every time you try to log in which is displayed below. After getting past that error the server will usually time out and forcing you to actually restart the login process. Eventually you may even find yourself at the character screen and think you’re in the clear… well then it still times out the process and you can’t play. There are plenty of people getting into the game and playing successfully so all hope is not lost!Act 2 boss is Error 37 apparently

Blizzard has posted on their Breaking News section on the side that they should be patient and that they have closed their battle.net website and they are opening up more servers. Honestly this is why you do more open/wide beta testing so that you know how your servers will fail. Also they should have looked at the pre-order amounts and etc to determine how many servers they needed. Plus this is Diablo 3 we’re talking about and this has been highly anticipated throughout the years. I take this as one of the biggest launch failures I have ever seen and this certainly upset a lot of people who have been trying to play this game since they bought it.

This still doesn’t mean people won’t buy or play the game though. It means they’ll be pissed off and remember this day forever and never let Blizzard live this down. I can say that they are at least trying to fix everything and get it running smoothly, but it has been an hour and a half for me with no luck. So sorry Blizzard, but the battle cry “Remember the Alamo!” will soon be replaced with “Remember the Error 37!” as you launch every other game you make.

UPDATE: I will admit that shortly after posting this they have cleared up the issues either by chance of the masses giving up on logging in or due to Blizzard’s hard work. Either way you get to play and essentially you shouldn’t have any issues logging into Diablo from now on. Also in the support forums Blizzard decided to explain the situation with a lovely gif as shown below. Enjoy!

About Anthony Carbone

Main Operator for Gamer's News Network

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Diablo 3 Launch Failure

  1. It’s worse than you know. Thousands of players all over the US are simply locked out of playing at all. Blizzard is blaming it on AT&T and have no idea if or when we’re ever going to go online. I want my money back.

    Posted by Mertado | May 20, 2012, 1:24 AM
    • Oh really? Well I can tell you on a personal note as an AT&T user that it is functional at least in my region so I don’t know why they would blame another company for their mess up. They really did drop the ball on their launch and should have looked at expanding their beta trials much greater than one open weekend. I was in the Star Wars: The Old Republic beta months before it released and many others months before me as well. I think EA/BioWare did an excellent job with the SWTOR release. While Diablo and SWTOR are two entirely different games, they share the trait of being online only. Hopefully Blizzard will address the issues and handle it efficiently and compensate for their trouble. I would suggest (if you haven’t already) emailing/writing to Blizzard and informing them of your troubles.

      Posted by Gamer's News Network | May 20, 2012, 9:38 AM
  2. Fantastic site you have here but I was wanting to know if you
    knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

    Posted by diablo 3 bot | July 1, 2012, 6:05 AM

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 771 other followers

The Back-Up Drive

