//
you're reading...
Geek News, RTX

The Rundown on Button Mash Productions

So there’s this publishing company called Button Mash Productions and they do a comic titled Balls 2 That. It is written and illustrated by Luke McKay and each volume is a compilation of a bunch of different short comics that will definitely make you laugh out loud like from the start. I haven’t gotten around to reading everything they have yet, but I’m excited to get into their stuff. I got a chance to talk with Luke briefly while at RTX 2012 and he shared some information with me and I’ll share it with you guys below:

Q: Is Button Mash your company?

“I own part of it. Mostly it is owned by Jose Rojas, he runs and manages it on the business end.”

Q: What made the decision for the name?

“Well I wanted to call it Winter Pixel (laughs).”

Q: When did you start drawing?

“I always doodled as a kid in High School, but as an adult it was in 2000 that I bought a sketch book and started drawing regularly.”

Q: What inspires Balls 2 That  and the rest of your work?

“I draw pretty much 99% of my inspiration from overheard conversations. That’s why I love making friends online and reading the silly posts they make. So if there’s a quick banter between them I’ll be like that seems like a great comic!”

Q: Do you have anything else in the works?

“Yes I am working on a comic with Eric Doty from XBOX Live. He is writing a series called Steamfunk. Though we’re not sure if it’s going to be serious or just a large graphic novel so we’re working out the writing details right now. We’re also looking for more writers.”

Q: What do you enjoy most about drawing?

“I enjoy just doing something creative and I really enjoy not having to commute. I love working at home, I haven’t done this before and it is great.”

Q: Do you encounter any troubles a lot? Is there anything you wish that you could avoid?

“I never worked in the creative field before. I was a nurse before this, but normally I was just like a factory worker. I never worked with anything creative before so it was a bit of a gear change and I didn’t know a lot about it so I had to do a lot of homework. I had to learn about art, computer programming, photoshop, printing, and learn about comedy too. So if you’re going to do something, then do your homework!”

Luke was a really cool guy to talk with and I’m glad I got a chance to meet with him. Now if you think you’re interested in their work then definitely check out their site. Specifically the Balls 2 That page has a bunch of stuff for you to check out including voice overs of the comics done by the fans of the series. Now if you’re interested in buying Steamfunk or Balls 2 That or other Button Mash Productions work check out their online store.

*UPDATE*

They have just launched their new website earlier this week. Check it out here http://thebuttonmash.com

About Anthony Carbone

Main Operator for Gamer's News Network

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Rundown on Button Mash Productions

  1. Only wanna tell that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

    Posted by grey bridesmaid dress | July 17, 2012, 2:17 AM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The COMPLETE Compilation of RTX 2012 « Gamer's News Network - July 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 771 other followers

The Back-Up Drive

